Beans, beans, the more you eat the more you…..??

….get healthy right?! You knew that’s what I was going to say!  So last night was hectic to say the least.  I rushed home from work which is really just a saying because my commute is an hour so rushing is really out of the picture; but stick with me here, so I rushed home from work and got ready for the gym.  I have about 45 minutes to spare between arriving home and leaving so I used that time to start putting together my raised garden bed frame I bought.  Yet another venture into the healthy lifestyle not mentioning that I have killed every house plant I have ever owned.  I’ll let you know how that goes… Then I busted butt at the gym outside and rushed home again to cut the backyard before the thunderstorms today.  On a positive note I did finish but the remaining yard was in the dark so we’ll find out today how well I actually mowed those areas.  Finally, I got down to dinner!

On to the recipe and review:

Ingredients

  • 2 cans washed and drained black beans (2 cans will get you leftovers even after filling 7 small tortilla shells)
  • 1 1/2- 2 bell peppers sliced colors of your choosing
  • 1 onion sliced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • olive oil or grape seed oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • tortillas (I used the small ones but any size is possible)

Directions

  • Heat skillet and oil on medium heat
  • Saute veggies until almost done add in spices and mix in saute
  • Add in black beans and saute a few more minutes to heat beans
  • Add any more spices necessary to taste
  • fill tortillas and add salsa or place fajita mix over rice.
  • ENJOY!!

They were so easy to make and tasty too.  I forgot to buy onions which was a real bummer and I think the fajita would have tasted even better.  I noticed I needed to add in more spices than called for in the recipe only because after taste testing during the sauteing I thought it was sort of bland.  I ate 3 small tortillas filled and was stuffed.  Overall it was a great dinner and next time I’ll remember to buy the onions.  It made such a nice amount that I was able to pack two tortillas for lunch, two more for another late night and still had some fajita mix to save and put over rice for another lunch.  Of course I am only feeding one so if you have a larger family you would have to plan accordingly but you can picture how much 2 cans made.

So far I don’t feel restricted at all with this plant based/raw/vegan lifestyle and I am full which when restricting calories eating meat always left me craving sugar.  I don’t have to count calories which always messed with my mind in previous eating habits.

Maybe I’ll do a “What’s in My Lunch Bag?” blog for you another day.  Let me know in the comments if that’s something worthwhile that you would want to read about.

Coming up in the next blog entry– My raised garden bed review (once I have it built and filled)

Leave a Reply

